top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaTan Roland Murphy

Selah Award Finalist/Blue Ridge Mountain Christian Writers Conference 2014


May 7, 2014

Ridgecrest, NC—Alton Gansky, Director of the Blue Ridge Mountains Christian Writers Conference, and Eva Marie Everson, BRMCWC Contest Director, announce the finalists in the 2014 Selah Awards, awarded to published authors each year during the “Blue Ridge” conference.

The Selah Awards are open industry wide and internationally to authors published by traditional and nontraditional publishing houses during the previous year. The awards will be given during the awards banquet held on Wednesday evening, May 21, at 7:30 p.m. Eastern Time. The 2014 Book of the Year award is chosen by the contest director from the top scores/first place recipients.

This year, finalists have been named in thirteen categories. They are (in alphabetical order according to the author’s last name):

Children (Tie for Third)

Michelle Medlock Adams—God Knows You (Candy Cane Press)

Burton W. Cole—Bash and the Pirate Pig (B&H Kids)

Hannah C. Hall—God Bless You and Goodnight (Thomas Nelson)

Jill Roman Lord—If Jesus Came to Visit Me (Candy Cane Press)

Inspiration and Gift

Debora M. Coty—Fear, Faith, and a Fistful of Chocolates (Barbour Publishing)

Cynthia Howerter & La-Tan Roland Murphy—God’s Provision in Tough Times (Lighthouse Publishing of the Carolinas)

Rose Chandler Johnson—God, Me, and Sweet Iced Tea (Lighthouse Publishing of the Carolinas)

Christian Life

Jo Ann Fore—When A Woman Finds Her Voice (Leafwood Publishers)

Cynthia Ruchti—Ragged Hope (Abingdon Press)

Linda Evans Shepherd—Finding God’s Presence (Revell)

Bible Study

Nick Hawkes—The Bible on the Key Issues of Life (Wombat Books)

Beebe Kauffman—Isaiah: Setting Things Right (Lighthouse Bible Studies)

Erica Wiggenhorn—Moses: Every Life Proof of God’s Promises (Crossbooks)

Young Adult Nonfiction

Bethany Jett—The Cinderella Rule (Regal)

Kelly McIntosh (Gen. Ed)—God Hearts Me; Daily Devotions for a Girl’s Heart (Barbour Publishing)

Cyle Young—Belly Buttons & Broken Hearts (Lighthouse Publishing of the Carolinas)

Young Adult Fiction

Elaine Marie Cooper—Fields of the Fatherless (Lighthouse Publishing of the Carolinas)

Tessa Emily Hall—Purple Moon (Lighthouse Publishing of the Carolinas)

Eddie Jones—Dead Low Tide (Zonderkidz)

First Novel (Tie for Third)

Dianna T. Benson—The Hidden Son (Ellechor Publishing House)

Carole Brown—The Redemption of Caralynne Hayman (Lighthouse Publishing of the Carolinas)

Aaron D. Gansky—The Bargain (Lighthouse Publishing of the Carolinas)

Tessa Emily Hall—Purple Moon (Lighthouse Publishing of the Carolinas)

Fiction: Novella

Paula Mowery—Be the Blessing (Pelican Book Group)

Linda Wood Rondeau—A Christmas Prayer (Lighthouse Publishing of the Carolinas)

Gina Welborn—Mercy Mild (Barbour Publishing)

Fiction: Speculative

Ian Acheson—Angelguard (Lion Hudson)

Lisa Belcastro—Shenandoah Crossings (OakTara)

Lisa Belcastro—Shenandoah Nights (OakTara)

Fiction: Suspense

Richard L. Mabry, M.D.—Stress Test (Thomas Nelson)

Linnette R. Mullin—Finding Beth (CrossRiver Media Group)

Jordyn Redwood—Poison (Kregel)

Fiction: Historical

Vikki Kestell—Joy on This Mountain (Faith-Filled Fiction)

Ann Tatlock—Sweet Mercy (Bethany House Publishers)

Liz Tolsma—Snow on the Tulips (Thomas Nelson)

Fiction: Romance

Rachel Hauck—Once Upon a Prince (Zondervan)

Maureen Lang—All in Good Time (Tyndale Publishers)

Davalynn Spencer—The Rancher’s Second Chance (Love Inspired / Heartsong Presents)

Fiction: Contemporary Women

Normandie Fischer—Sailing Out of Darkness (WhiteFire Publishing)

Anita Higman—Winter in Full Bloom (Moody Publishers)

Cynthia Ruchti—When the Morning Glory Blooms (Abingdon Press)

Thanks to the generous support of Crossbooks and LifeWay/Ridgecrest, the banquet will be telecast live over the internet. To access the live stream during the awards banquet, click on:

For more information, you may email Eva Marie Everson at


bottom of page